TSHOF Class of 2020-2021


 WACO, Texas – The 2020-2021 classes will be honored on Saturday, August 28, 2021, at 6 p.m. at The Base at the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas. Banquet tickets are $200 each, $600 for a banquet table or $1,400 for a combo table of eight. There are also sponsorship opportunities starting at $3500. To purchase tickets or become a sponsor, please call Krista Martin at the museum at 800-567-9561. Covid-19 guidelines will be followed as dictated by the State of Texas and the City of Waco. 

Inductees scheduled to appear are:

Leroy Burrell: In 1985-86, Burrell broke Houston’s freshman long jump record, previously held by Carl Lewis, when he leaped 26’-9” in 1986. At the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona, Spain, Burrell and his team won the gold medal and set a new world record with a time of 37.40 seconds in the 4x100 relay. Burrell also had a fifth-place finish in the 100m at the Olympic Games. In the 21 seasons as head track and field coach at the University of Houston, Burrell has added 155 NCAA All-Americans and a combined 39 team conference championships to the record books. He was named C-USA Coach of the Year 23 times and has been a recipient of the American Athletic Conference Coaching Staff of the Year 12 times.

Michelle Carter: Carter began her career winning four shot put state championships at Red Oak High School. She went on to the University of Texas to become a seven-time All American, won five Big 12 titles, and became the 2006 NCAA Indoor Champion. In 2016, she won a gold medal in shot put at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics. She was the first American female to win gold in the shot since 1948 and is the American record holder in the shot with a throw of 67’8” at the 2016 Olympics.

Derrick Johnson: a Waco, Texas native, Johnson was among the most dominant high school players of the decade, earning All-State honors at linebacker and leading the Waco Lions to the 5A quarterfinals both his junior and senior seasons. He was a two-time Parade All-American, the top linebacker recruit in the state, a member of the Texas Football Super Team and played in the inaugural U.S. Army All-American Bowl in 2001. At the University of Texas (2001-2004), Johnson was a two-time consensus all-American, four-time all-Big 12, Defensive Player of the Year, and recipient of the Dick Butkus and Bronco Nagurski Awards. in 2005, He was drafted in the first round by the Kansas City Chiefs in 2005 and was voted to three consecutive Pro Bowls from 2011-2013.

Shane Lechler: Lechler went to school at Texas A&M, where he became a two-time all-American punter and set an NCAA record with a career average of 44.7 yards and was on the 1997 All-Big 12 Team. He played with the Houston Texans from 2013-2017 and was the NFL all-time record holder for career punting average and NFL’s 2000’s Team of the Decade Punter, as well as a six-time 1st team All-Pro, seven-time Pro Bowl selection.

Sophia Young-Malcom:  Young was a two-time Kodak All-American and led the Baylor Lady Bears to its first NCAA title in 2005. That same year she was also the Final Four's Most Outstanding Player, a Consensus first-team All-American, the Big 12 Player of the Year, and a member of the Big 12 10th Year Anniversary Team. Young was on the All-Big 12 first team for three consecutive years and ended her college career as the Big 12's all-time leader in points, rebounds, double-doubles. She was one of four players in NCAA history with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, 300 assists and 300 steals. After college, Young entered the WNBA with the San Antonio Silver Stars where she became a three-time WNBA All-Star and a four-time All-WNBA Team player.

Francie Larrieu Smith: Larrieu Smith attended Cal State University in Long Beach and UCLA. Starting with the 1500-meter title in 1970, Larrieu established 36 U.S. records and 12 world bests in distances ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 meters. Francie was just the third female American athlete to make five Olympic teams. Larrieu served as the head men’s and women’s cross country/track and field coach at Southwestern University in Georgetown from 1999-2018.

Demarcus Ware: Ware spent12 years as an NFL outside linebacker. He was the 11th overall pick in the 2005 NFL draft by the Dallas Cowboys and, in 2007, was the 2nd Cowboy to ever record at least 14 sacks in a season. Ware also tied an NFL record for recording a sack in 10 straight games. He was the 29th player in NFL history to reach 100 or more sacks, a 2016 Super Bowl champion with the Denver Broncos, and had nine Pro Bowl appearances. Ware was a four-time First-team All-Pro member, a three-time Second-team All-Pro member, two-time NFL sacks leader, and made the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team.

Charlie Waters: Waters was a former All-ACC quarterback and wide receiver at Clemson. Waters was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys as a defensive back in the third round of the 1970 NFL Draft. In 1970, he was named first-team NFL All-Rookie team. Throughout his 12-year NFL career Waters played in five Super Bowls-winning two- was named to three Pro Bowls, and the Second-Team All-Pro twice. His nine playoff interceptions are an NFL record, and he holds records for most interceptions in an NFC playoff game and 2nd all-time Dallas Cowboys career interceptions. After retiring from playing in 1981 he became an NFL coach for the Denver Broncos, a college coach at Oregon, and was a commentator for a short time.  

Teresa Weatherspoon: A native from Pineland, Texas, Weatherspoon led Louisiana Tech to the 1988 NCAA women’s basketball title and brought home plenty of awards and titles. In 1997, she was drafted in the WNBA draft to the New York Liberty and retired as the franchise’s all-time leader in assists and steals. She won a gold medal at the 1988 Olympics and a bronze medal at the 1992 Olympics. Today, Teresa is an assistant coach with the New Orleans Pelicans.




Back to index...