Texas Sports Hall of Fame Legends Gala


 Dave and Reba Campbell to be honored by Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Ceremony to be Held on Monday, December 14, 2015


WACO, TX – October 21, 2015 – The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) is proud to announce that Dave and Reba Campbell have been selected as recipients of the Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award for their contributions to the sport of football in the state of Texas.


The Campbells will be honored at the inaugural Texas Sports Hall of Fame Legends Gala on Monday, December 14. A VIP reception will be held at the Hilton Waco at 5:30 pm followed by the award presentation and dinner at 7 pm in the Brazos Ballroom at the Waco Convention Center.


"We are delighted to be able to honor Dave and Reba for the amazing impact they have had on the sport of football in the state of Texas," said Jared Mosley, the President/CEO of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. "The journey of starting a publication from scratch in 1960 to the popularity of the various platforms associated with the brand today is quite remarkable. Dave’s passion for quality journalism and the pursuit of excellence have helped shape the culture of football in Texas. He has without a doubt impacted thousands of coaches, young men, and fans of all ages.”


For information on how to purchase tickets, table sponsorships, and congratulatory program ads, call the Texas Sports Hall of Fame at 254-756-1633 or visit the and click on the Legends Gala link.


Proceeds from the fundraising gala will benefit the ongoing mission and educational outreach efforts of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, as well as the establishment of a permanent endowment in honor of Dave and Reba Campbell.


About the Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award

The award was established to honor an individual who has achieved special acclaim by being influential in enhancing Texas sports and Texas sports history. The criteria include having had, through the course of one’s life, a significant and positive impact on the landscape of Texas sports.

 The Lamar Hunt Lifetime Achievement Award represents one of the highest honors bestowed by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and our past recipients are among the great leaders who vision and service in the world of sports has left a lasting legacy for us all:

 2006 – Red McCombs

2009 – Don Carter

2014 – Drayton McLane

About Lamar Hunt

Lamar Hunt, a 1984 Texas Sports Hall of Fame inductee, was instrumental in establishing the organization’s first building, which opened in Grand Prairie, Texas in 1980. As a pro sports entrepreneur, Lamar Hunt changed forever the structure of pro football. He founded the American Football League in 1960, and his Dallas Texans were among the league's eight franchises. After winning the AFL title in 1962, the Texans moved and became the Kansas City Chiefs. In 1966, Hunt was one of the principal architects of the AFL-NFL merger. He also gave the Super Bowl its name and, coincidentally, his Chiefs played in the first one on Jan. 15, 1967. Hunt has served as a president of the AFC since its inception in 1970, and its championship trophy was named in his honor. In 1967 Hunt, along with Dave Dixon and Al G. Hill Jr., formed the World Championship Tennis tour (WCT). That same year Hunt also invested in the Dallas Tornado Soccer Club in the NASL. He was an original investor in Major League Soccer and part owner of the Kansas City Wizards. Hunt is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1972), International Tennis Hall of Fame (1993), and the National Soccer Hall of Fame (1982).

About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football

The magazine was started in 1960 by Dave Campbell, a longtime writer and sports editor for the Waco Tribune-Herald, along with fellow Waco sportswriters Hollis Biddle, Jim Montgomery, and Al Ward. He published the magazine out of his kitchen. On the cover of the inaugural edition was Texas Longhorns running back Jackie Collins. The cover price for the 96-page magazine was fifty cents.

 It is one of the best-selling football magazines in the state and has been dubbed "The Bible of Texas Football". Each year, the identity of its cover subject(s) is a tightly-guarded secret. Campbell still holds the position of editor-in-chief.

 Currently, Dave Campbell's Texas Football is a twice-yearly statewide magazine with over 400,000 readers.


Back to index...